Hyderabad: Atomic Minerals Directorate for Exploration and Research (AMD), Hyderabad, a constituent unit of Department of Atomic Energy (DAE), in association with Indian Nuclear Society (INS), Hyderabad Branch organised the second webinar on ‘Atmanirbharta in Science’ series as part of ongoing ‘Azadi Ka Amrit Mahotsav’ celebrations in AMD on 17.09.2021.

The main function was held in Dr. Homi J. Bhabha Auditorium in the premises of AMD Headquarters, Hyderabad, which was webcast in the virtual platform. Dr. D.K. Sinha, Director, AMD and Chairman, INS, Hyderabad Branch in his address welcomed the Chief Guest Padma Shri Dr.M.Y.S. Prasad, Vice Chancellor, Vignan University, Guntur, Andhra Pradesh, Former Distinguished Scientist (APEX), ISRO and Former Director, Satish Dhawan Space Centre, Sriharikota, other dignitaries and the audience.

The Chief Guest Padma Shri Dr. M.Y.S. Prasad, delivered the Invited Talk on ‘Development of Space Activities in India since 1960s’. Dr. Prasad highlighted the progress achieved by India in space activities since the inception of Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO).

Several dignitaries including Dr. Dinesh Srivastava, Chief Executive (CE), Nuclear Fuel Complex (NFC); Rear Admiral Sanjay Chaubey, Chairman and Managing Director (C&MD), Electronics Corporation of India (ECIL); Shri N. Saibaba, Raja Ramanna Fellow (RRF) & Former, CE, NFC; Shri P. Sudhakar, Officer on Special Duty (OSD) & Former C&MD, ECIL; Dr. G. Amarendra, RRF & Former Director, Materials Science Group, Indira Gandhi Centre for Advanced Research (IGCAR) along with Dr. D.K. Sinha, Director, AMD and Chairman, INS, Hyderabad Branch; Additional Directors, AMD, Shri B. Saravanan, Dr. T.S. Sunil Kumar and Shri R. Mamallan graced the occasion with their presence at the venue.

Senior officials of AMD and Members of INS were present in the audience, while a large number of participants joined the proceedings from various parts of the country through virtual mode. Dr. T.S. Sunil Kumar, Secretary, INS, Hyderabad Branch proposed the vote of thanks. The programme concluded with the rendering of national anthem.